South Pasadena High School  Logo
Principal's Message Daily Schedule Staff Directory Teacher Directory Counseling SARC SPARC SPHS School Profile ESLRS Mission & Vision Employment Opportunities Photo Gallery Video Gallery Daily Bulletin Registration
AP Summer Assignments Homework/Teachers Counseling Library ROP
Menus/Nutrition & Wellness Counselors News & Announcements Student Services
Contact Teachers News & Events SPHS Music Boosters Parent Portal Aeries/ABI PTSA Website Scholarships SPHS Tiger Booster Club
Alumni Website
SPHS Athletic Participation Form Coaching Directory Questions & Answers of Incoming 9th Graders Schedules Results & Directions Teams SPHS Booster Club Hall of Fame
Instrumental Music SPHS ASB Tiger Newspaper Online Yosemite Institute

AP By The Sea-2014

This is a simple page to hold information from our summer APSI.  The APSI was held on June 23 - 26 at the University of San Diego.  I am listing a few technology items that were shared by the participants.  If you email me something that we can share, I will add to this list.

  • AirServer--This is a piece of software that you can install on a PC or a Mac.  Once installed, it will allow you to "mirror" your iPad to the computer that is hooked to a projector.  Anything on your iPad screen will be projected.  If you have AppleTV, this gives your computer the same capability.  The software requires you to purchase a license, but there is an educational price of something like $7.  You can also get a 7-day free trial.  The two computers you use must be on the same wireless network.
  • Notability--This iPad app makes a nice pairing with AirServer.  Notability allows you to take notes, write on your iPad screen, import .pdf's or pictures and draw on them, etc.  You or your students can use your iPad as an electronic whiteboard.  There is a lot more that Notability can do that I have not yet explored.
  • NearPod--This is an iPad app that allows you to put together lessons that your students with iPads can download.  Not only does it allow you to display information, but you can interact with the students as well.  You can ask questions or polls and get feedback.  You can give them a chance to "draw" which means they could do a Lewis Structure or solve a problem and you can see what they write from YOUR iPad.  I downloaded and played with this app briefly.  I don't think it is free if you want bells and whistles.
  • MolsEdit--This inexpensive iPad app ($4.99) allows you to build molecules that you can "screen capture" and use or simply display for your students.  One of the options that seemed really useful was the orbital display mode that showed the double bond as a sigma and a pi bond.  The molecules can be "optimized" to display the correct structure (VSEPR) and rotated.
usd2014_1.jpg
usd2014_2.jpg
usd2014_3.jpg
usd2014_4.jpg
usd2014_5.jpg
Name School e-mail addr
Ben Davey Southwest HS benjamin.davey@sweetwaterschools.org
Alex Day-Blattner Clark Magnet HS aday-blattner@gusd.net
Cheryl Eisen San Diego Jewish Academy ceisen@sdja.com
Marilin Escalante Mar Vista HS mrlnescalante@yahoo.com
marilin.escalante@sweetwaterschools.org
Ben Fabian Olympian HS benedict.fabian@sweetwaterschools.org
benitosd@cox.net
Tammy Golomb Fowler HS tzalewski@fowlerusd.org
Paul Groves South Pasadena HS pgroves@fc.spusd.net
Rosanna Lupien Helix Charter School lupien@gmail.com
rosannalupien@gmail.com
Janie Mathis Chino Hills HS janie_mathis@chino.k12.ca.us
Mahsa Meemari Oakland Military Institute mmeemari@omiacademy.org
Bill Miller Maranatha Christian Schools bill.miller@maranathachristianschools.org
bmiller.mcs@gmail.com
Joel Miller Montgomery HS joel.miller@sweetwaterschools.org
joel.miller@usc.edu
Keri Ponce Westlake HS kponce@conejousd.org
Philip Rainer St Margarets Episcopal School nccavie@me.com
Amy Rosen San Marcos HS amy.rosen@smusd.org
Henry Shimojyo Lakeside HS henry.shimojyo@leusd.k12.ca.us
Kathryn Smith (Tech Specialist) Hart High School kmsmith@hartdistrict.org
Debbie Stenger Mt Carmel HS dstenger@powayusd.com
Alice Stevens Oak Grove HS stevensa@esuhsd.org
Danielle  Vincent-Griffith Crawford HS dgriffith@sandi.net
Karen Wang Port of Los Angeles HS kwang@polahs.net